The Movie Theater that Started it All

I just wanted to send a shout out to my Photography professor: Benita VanWinkle who has just been featured in the local news with her 30 year long project of photographing vintage movie theaters from around the country. You can watch the video footage here: http://www.wral.com/photographer-captures-vintage-america-through-pictures-/14490816/

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.05.13 AM

Her collection of North Carolina Vintage Movie Theaters are now in display at the High Point Museum. I had the pleasure to be invited to the beautiful reception, but everyone should go!

The reason I wanted to post this was not only to spread the word about my professor, but also to recognize her achievements as a professional photographer as well as an educator. Benita was the first person to teach me photography: Digital Photography class my sophomore year, was definitely a highlight in my life. I would never have discovered that I had a passion, an eye, or any talent for photography. if it wasn’t for her I struggled so much the first couple of months trying to understand how to make a DSLR work… my favorite phrase was: “It won’t click!!! I’m clicking, and it’s not clicking.” I would get so frustrated with the technology that I almost quit the class halfway through. I talked to Benita about it and she encourage me to stay and told me that if I hated photography by the end of class then at least I could say I gave it my best shot. A week later, all of a sudden all the different settings made sense to me while on a photo field trip with some friends. Fast forward 2 years, and I have now won a national photo contest, started my own freelance photography business, and even gotten a job as a photographer for the school newspaper. And to think that I almost quit because I was struggling. That’s something that I like to look back on and remember whenever I think of quitting something I previously committed to.

All I have to say now is… thanks Benita for bearing with me and helping me grow as a skilled photographer and just as a person in general. Congratulations on your own success.

One comment

  1. jenburtonhpu · April 7, 2015

    Touching blog post. You should definitely share this with Benita!

    Like

Leave a comment