The Brave Photographer

So this past week I had a lot of free time, and by that I mean I procrastinated on my work a lot… so I went on different blogs I follow… Pinterest, Stumble Upon, and some other sites. I came across many different articles that I really made me think about the life of a photographer.

With every passing day I realize how much more there is to photography that many people, including myself, give it credit for. As I have talked about before, it requires not only a certain talent and ability, but a sense of responsibility and a strong commitment to the art of documenting life. I realize how brave photographers have to be to take the best, most beautiful, and most influential photographs of their lifetime. Just think about it… people talk about just being in the right place at the right time, but sometimes that requires not only to remember to have your camera at all times, but to be willing to travel and go places where most people simply don’t go.

enhanced-7030-1422915247-1

You have to be daring, willing to take risks… and not be afraid to be called crazy 🙂

enhanced-30966-1422915334-20

Some photographs are just the result of extreme bravery… Check it out right here: http://www.buzzfeed.com/h2/fbso/toyotacamry/photographs-that-were-the-result-of-extraordinary-bravery?b=1#.fgaD5jRn7

Even famous early photographers, like Lewis Hine, went above and beyond to get the right shots for their professional assignments. I’m sure you would recognize some of his photographs

imgres

…especially those of the construction of the Empire State Building…

imgres-1

There are many photographs that we see as extraordinary because of the person being portrayed is on the edge of the tallest building of the world, or the scenery is just breathtaking…

Aerial-view-of-Central-Park-New-York

Aerial view of Central Park, NYC

But have we ever thought about the person behind the photograph who must have gone through extreme lengths to get that perfect shot. Think about where they had to be, the connections or just luck they must have had to be there at the right time. We all know those famous photographs plastered everywhere, but we tend to forget about the photographers. Thus, I dedicate this post to those who have gone the extra mile to take those daring and extraordinary photographs, whether it was by chance, an assignment, or whatever. I only hope I let myself be more daring for the sake of photography in the short future.

Click here to see the photographers behind those famous photographs: http://www.boredpanda.com/famous-photographer-portraits-behind-photographs-tim-mantoani/

3 comments

  1. jenburtonhpu · February 22, 2015

    I have really enjoyed your blog the past few weeks. Such interesting and deep thoughts about photography and what it means in our lives. A lot of your posts remind me of a friend, Kristine, who has recently started doing photography on a professional level. Check out her Facebook site: https://www.facebook.com/krephotos. My favorite work of hers was when she was able to capture the surprise of this wedding proposal: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61t9VbArYi8. Photographs mean so much. I find myself looking back through my last three years of Facebook watching how my son has changed over that time and remembering all the fun things we have done together. People like you, who make it an art, really make it so much more special!

    Like

  2. blue17cristy · February 26, 2015

    Im happy you have enjoyed reading my blog, and thank you so much for the compliments, I actually ended up liking your friend’s fb page, since I really enjoyed her posts and different links. It’s funny because I have seen alot of the inspiration posts and videos before!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lillianachalfant · March 3, 2015

    I loved reading this post. I myself am a photographer by hobby and I can concur that there is much more to it than others or myself give it credit for. I love how you took the time to recognize daring photography and consider it from behind the lens rather than in front. Great examples as well, loved the historical inserts.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment